Thirst Things First Album Feature

This past Sunday, I did my first interview and album feature as a contributor for Hear Nebraska. I sat down with the guys from Lincoln pop punk band Thirst Things First on the week of their EP release show.

When they’ve given interviews in the past, it’s always in character. As you’ll read, their “origin story” is that a transmission from the future put the band together as a mouth-piece for his propagandizing about oil. Oil is supposed to be anything you drink or anything used as currency. (Oil is like marklar from South Park, by the way. The best way I can think to describe it.)

This time, I stepped beyond the veil to speak with the band members themselves out of character. I was ecstatic (and a little nervous) to write a story that hadn’t been touched yet, a feeling augmented when it turned out to be so interesting.

What I found was a candid glimpse into their unique concept, it’s live execution, and what it means for them to release the record.

I’m very proud of this one. Here is the link: http://www.hearnebraska.org/content/speaking-without-boot-thirst-things-first-release-sexaphone-album-feature

Enjoy.

Leave a comment