Concert Review: Satchel Grande CD Release Party 4.19.14 @ Vega

When I posted my review of Okkervil River’s Omaha show last week, it was really just for me. As one of my new favorites, the timing was perfect. There was plenty to say about their songwriting, performance, and demeaner. The review basically wrote itself.

Whelp. Someone read it.

The following Saturday, I found myself at Vega in Lincoln for night two of Omaha funk band Satchel Grande’s CD Release Party. I had been asked by my friend Jacob Zlomke, staff writer at Hear Nebraska, to review the show for them as a contributer.

I flipped. You read that? And liked it? AND YOU WANT ME TO WRITE FOR YOU?!

I was honored. And excited. And anxious. Frightened, even.

By the good grace of the universe, I was able to push my heart back down into my chest long enough to pump out this review. Jacob and managing editor Chance Solem-Pfeifer put me through the ringer, and it wouldn’t be what it is without their help. True professionals. I am happy to call them friends as well.

Okay, enough mush. Find the direct link below, and enjoy.

http://hearnebraska.org/content/satchel-grande-cd-release-party-vega-concert-review

-$

Leave a comment